The system of education in Iceland is divided into four levels. Playschool (up to the age of 6), compulsory school (to the age of 16), upper secondary school (four years) and then higher education. Education is mandatory for children aged 6 – 16 and most institutions are funded by the state. The rate of education in Iceland is considered high. 

Eyjafjordur has excellent infant, primary and secondary schools, and after school daycare centers. There are three upper secondary schools in the area and one university. The University of Akureyri was established in 1987 and has grown rapidly since then. The education is divided into the faculty of health sciences, faculty of business and science and the faculty of humanities and social sciences. Research has also been advancing within the University, often in collaboration with other institutes located in the campus area.